Day 10 – Mon 21 Sept

24 09 2009
St Michaels College - not sure if that bricked up window is the one I was looking for

St Michael's College - not sure if that bricked up window is the one I was looking for

I left Victoria and Craig’s place at 11am.  There were three places in Leeds on Stephen’s list of his father’s stained glass windows and we had found out the location of one – St Michael’s College – online.  I set the sat nav and went along to the old building which is now used by the Crypt (a charitable organisation connected to the Catholic church).  I could see that the windows were plain and that some were boarded up (and one bricked up) so I wasn’t too hopeful.  I asked at reception and spoke with the priest who told me that there were no stained glass windows there now.  He thought one of the junior priests might know where the archive information had been taken when they had moved into the building and, after a request that I sign in and use the anti bacterial hand gel (which is pointless – doesn’t kill anything and most people don’t cover their entire hands in it anyway) I was taken through to speak with this younger priest.  He gave me the address of  where the archives are held and the phone number of the Dean of Leeds Cathedral.

Then I thought I’d try The Sacred Heart (that’s all the info Stephen had) as the sat nav said it was just over a mile away.  When I got there it was a flat-roofed modern primary school building.  Maybe it was on the site of the older building, maybe they were unrelated.  With only my iPhone on a 3G connection I wasn’t about to start new research from the car so I decided to continue with my journey south and headed off for Market Rasen.

Perhaps they were trying to entice people who are not vegetarian to eat these dishes, just to make it worth their while having them on the menu.

Perhaps they were trying to entice people who are not vegetarian to eat these dishes, just to make it worth their while having them on the menu.

Had a lovely couple of hours with Jason in Market Rasen.  We had a pub lunch.  At first I thought there were no vegetarian options on the menu but finally found them under the heading “something different” – just two dishes.  I found that quite funny.  I gave Jason back the key ring that had been on the keys for the Mini Clubman Estate he had given me in 2002.  The key ring was a Lego man and he’d been called Mr Spigot after Dudley Moore’s character in Pete & Dudley’s ‘Tarzan’ sketch, as he only had one leg (and one hand).  Under my care, Mr Spigot had managed to lose the other leg and another hand, but his face and crash helmet are still intact.  I also filled in the vehicle registration documents to sign the Mini back over to him.  The plan is that his friend’s father on the island will take a look at it and see if it is possible to get it back on the road.  I do hope it can be done.

I went into Boots and managed to get some photos printed for the postcards.  This time I used my ‘proper’ memory stick – I think the little one I’d used previously must have been faulty.

I decided to go into Lincoln to see if I could find somewhere with wifi and just have a general look around.  It was still fairly early in the day and I didn’t have far to go to get to Simon & Fil’s, and they wouldn’t be home from work yet.  The sat nav managed to confuse me when I got into the city and I failed to find the car park I’d Googled.  The alternative (after driving round three times) was half an hour’s kerbside parking.  I managed to stretch that out to 40 minutes while I had a cup of coffee in the Prince of Wales and use their wifi.  Uploaded a few photos to Flickr and sent a tweet and that was that.  Didn’t really have time to complete a blog entry as well.

As I left Lincoln, I found the car park just around a corner I’d not seen earlier.  Drat.

It wasn’t long before I was through Newark and into Barnby in the Willows (what a wonderful name).  Easily found Simon & Fil’s place – wonderful house, just fabulous – and again had a fantastic welcome.  Kevin and Janine came round too and we all had a lovely evening chatting and chilling.  It really has been a treat to spend so much time with people I ‘converse’ with more online than I do in real life.  We don’t camp together at Glastonbury so I don’t get much time with any of them there (though Nik and Shay were right next to us in the Family Field this year, we were all off doing our own things)  – I must try to do more of this next year, it’s great!

Because Barnby in the Willows is in the middle of nowhere, the internet providings are a little dodgy so no uploading again.  However I did have postcards to write and was able to type up some blog entries to paste in later on.  They are longer as a result and for this I apologise!

Another day with not many photos.

Miles travelled – 123 (total mileage – 1,224)

The Aston Arms in Market Rasen, where I had lunch with my friend Jason

The Aston Arms in Market Rasen, where I had lunch with my friend Jason

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

